'58 Sq 4 Head removal

Post Technical Questions or Technical writeups pertaining to Ariel Motorcycles
paul.sammut

'58 Sq 4 Head removal

Post by paul.sammut » Sun Mar 29, 2020 1:40 pm

Decided to disassemble my 1958 Square Four as it has not run in several years and have read enough disaster stories about engine blow-ups because of sludge in the crank oil pathways. The only handbook (owner's manual) is particularly unhelpful so thought I'd ask the experts since this is my first attempt at working on a Sq 4 engine.
The book shows a diagram containing 18 head bolts and suggests a tightening (thus, I assume, the reverse for loosening) sequence, but my head appears to have only 10 bolts visible on top and 4 nuts on studs underneath the head. I know there have been various iterations of the heads over the years and wonder whether mine is different or am I just blind? Also, the bolts that hold in the rocker spindles - do they go deep into the barrel and therefore must be removed to lift the head or can they be left in place as they come out with the head?
Hopefully, these questions are not too stupid and someone can help - I'd rather be safe than sorry.
Thanks in advance,
Paul.

phil.auldridge

Re: '58 Sq 4 Head removal

Post by phil.auldridge » Sun Mar 29, 2020 11:04 pm

Hi Paul,
Unless you have some strange aberration, no doubt your engine has the 18 studs just like all the MK II engines. Here's a good head/block explosion on the Draganfly website, which may be similar to your manual: https://www.draganfly.co.uk/ariel/4-str ... nd-1953-58
Note that while the rocker tower studs do NOT extend into the block, you do have to remove the external oil transfer lines at the rocker mechanism to get to the bolts/nuts underneath.

As far as loosening sequence of stud nuts, I'd likely not be too concerned with that, however, with the chart there, certainly no downside in following that procedure.